Government of Ireland


The Government is the group of senior ministers responsible for the executive power of the State. This means that the Government is responsible for giving effect to laws. You can view this list of current Government Ministers.

The Government is also often described as the Cabinet or the Executive.

The Government decides major questions of policy and carries out a number of different and important functions. You can read more information in our documents, The Government and Dáil Eireann and Composition of the Government.

Page edited: 22 April 2015