EU Institutions

Overview Document The EU has 7 main institutions, and the role of each one is set out in the treaties. This document outlines the different institutions and explains how they interact.

European Council
The European Council brings together the heads of state or government of every EU countr and decides on the political direction of the EU.

Council of the European Union
The Council of the European Union consists of one government minister from every member state. The Council is part of the law making process in the European Union.

European Commission
The European Commission is the executive of the European Union. This document explains what that means, the role and functions of the European Commission and how it operates within the EU.

European Parliament
The European Parliament is one of the law making institutions of the European Union. This document describes what it does, how it works and how it interacts with other EU institutions.

European Court of Justice
The European Court of Justice ensures that European law is interpreted and applied in each member state. Find out about the other important functions of this court.

Court of Auditors
The main task of the European Court of Auditors, is auditing and overseeing the accounts and budgets of the institutions of the European Union.

European Ombudsman
The European Ombudsman safeguards the fundamental rights of citizens living in Europe by ensuring open and accountable administrations within the European Union.