Regional assemblies


Regional assemblies make decisions about strategic planning, EU funding and they help co-ordinate the work of local authorities.

Ireland has 3 regional assemblies. Each assembly has members who are elected by the local authorities in the region. The 3 regions are:

These regional assemblies were created under the Local Government Reform Act 2014 and have been in operation since 1 January 2015.

What do regional assemblies do?

The aim of the assemblies is to co-ordinate, promote and support strategic planning and sustainable development and make local government and public services more effective.

Strategic planning means planning the direction or goals for the region, and making decisions on how to use funding and resources. Regional assemblies make it easier for local authorities to work together to benefit the region.

Economic and spatial planning

Regional assemblies plan how to use the land and resources in the region over a long period. They have developed Regional Spatial and Economic Strategies as part of the government’s long term plans to meet the challenges of population growth, climate change and a competitive economy.

EU Funding

Regional assemblies manage certain EU funding programmes like the European Regional Development Fund, which is used to invest in development in the regions.

Which regional assembly covers my area?

The membership of a regional assembly consists of members of the local authorities within the region:

  • The Northern and Western Regional Assembly has 21 members and covers the county councils of Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Galway, Mayo, Monaghan, Roscommon and Sligo and the city council of Galway.
  • The Southern Regional Assembly has 27 members and covers the county councils of Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tipperary and Wexford, the city council of Cork, and the city and county councils of Limerick and Waterford.
  • The Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly has 35 members and covers the county councils of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, South Dublin, Westmeath and Wicklow and the city council of Dublin.
Page edited: 18 June 2021