EU Institutions

  • The EU has 7 main institutions, and the role of each one is set out in the treaties. This document outlines the different institutions and explains how they interact.
  • The European Council brings together the heads of state or government of every EU country and decides on the political direction of the EU.

  • The Council of the European Union consists of one government minister from every member state. The Council is part of the law making process in the European Union.

  • The European Commission is the executive of the European Union. This document explains what that means, the role and functions of the European Commission and how it operates within the EU.

  • The European Parliament is one of the law making institutions of the European Union. This document describes what it does, how it works and how it interacts with other EU institutions.

  • The Court of Justice of the European Union ensures that European law is interpreted and applied in each member state. Find out about the other important functions of this court.

  • The main task of the European Court of Auditors, is auditing and overseeing the accounts and budgets of the institutions of the European Union.

  • The European Central Bank is the central bank for the euro area and is responsible for conducting monetary policy for the euro area. This page outlines the functions of this institution.

  • The European Ombudsman safeguards the fundamental rights of citizens living in Europe by ensuring open and accountable administrations within the European Union.