Courts system

Overview Document An outline of the courts and the offices that support them.

Children Court
The Children Court deals with criminal charges involving children under 18. It came into operation under the Children Act 2001, which sets out the rules for the Children Court.

District Court
The District Court is organised on a regional basis and is the lowest court in the Irish court system.

Small claims procedure
The small claims procedure provides an inexpensive, fast and easy way for consumers to resolve disputes without a solicitor. Find out how the procedure operates.

European small claims procedure
The European Small Claims Procedure provides an inexpensive and easy way for someone to pursue a cross-border claim without the need to employ a solicitor.

Circuit Court
The Circuit Court is a court of local and limited jurisdiction. Ireland is divided into 8 circuits for the purpose of this Court.

High Court
The High Court has jurisdiction in criminal and civil cases. Find out where, and how matters are heard in this court.

Commercial Court
The Commercial Court provides efficient dispute resolution in commercial cases.

Special Criminal Court
What is the Special Criminal Court and what type of cases can it hear.

Court of Appeal
The main function of the Court of Appeal is to hear appeals from the High Court and the Circuit Court.

Supreme Court of Ireland
The Supreme Court is the Court of Final Appeal in Ireland.

Office of the Legal Costs Adjudicators
Information about the functions of the Office of the Legal Costs Adjudicators. This used to be called the Office of the Taxing Master.

Legal Services Regulatory Authority
Information about the Legal Services Regulatory Authority (LSRA), the State body responsible for the regulation of legal practitioners (solicitors and barristers) in Ireland.