How do I add a category to my Irish driving licence?


You add a category of a motor vehicle to your driver’s licence either online or in person. Your current driver’s licence must be in date. You may need to complete a test for the new licence category you want to add. For example, if you wanted to add a truck or bus category to your driver’s licence. Certain categories may be added automatically to your licence without another test. For example, you can automatically drive a tractor if you have a car licence.

The Road Safety Authority (RSA) has responsibility for driver licensing. The National Driver Licence Service (NDLS) manages licence applications and renewals.

Apply online

To apply online to add a category to your driving licence, you need:

Apply in person

You can apply in person by booking an appointment at one of 34 NDLS centres nationwide. There is no walk-in service available.

You need the following:

* If your PSC photo is over 10 years old, you must renew it on MyWelfare first using a verified MyGovID.

More information

National Driver Licence Service

Road Safety Authority
Po Box 858
Southside Delivery Office

Opening Hours: Lines open Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm (excluding Public Holidays) and Saturdays 9am – 1pm.
Tel: 0818 700 800

Road Safety Authority (RSA)

Moy Business Park
Primrose Hill
Co Mayo

Page edited: 2 July 2024