Smokeless Fuel Allowance


The Smokeless Fuel Allowance was abolished on 1 September 2011.

The Smokeless Fuel Allowance was an extra allowance paid by the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection to low-income households to help them meet the extra costs of using smokeless or low smoke fuels in certain parts of the country.

The marketing, sale and distribution of bituminous (smoke causing) fuel in some parts of the Ireland has been banned since 1990. The result of this ban has been a significant improvement in air quality in these areas. Local authorities carry out spot checks on fuel retailers to ensure compliance with the ban. Complaints about the burning of unauthorised materials should be reported to your local authority.

The areas where you must use smokeless or low smoke fuels areas are:

  • Athlone
  • Arklow
  • Bray
  • Carlow
  • Clonmel
  • Celbridge
  • Cork
  • Drogheda
  • Dublin
  • Dundalk
  • Ennis
  • Galway City
  • Greystones
  • Kilkenny
  • Leixlip
  • Letterkenny
  • Limerick
  • Naas-Sallins
  • Newbridge
  • Sligo
  • Tralee
  • Waterford
  • Wexford
  • Wicklow
Page edited: 13 November 2019