Dáil Éireann


Dáil Éireann is one of the Houses of the Oireachtas, the national parliament. Dáil Éireann is located in Dublin.

The Dáil consists of members of the Dáil or TDs – Teachta Dála. They are also known as Deputies. TDs are elected directly to the Dáil in a general election. If a vacancy occurs at the Dáil, the seat will be filled by a bye-election. There is a list of current TDs, grouped alphabetically by name or by constituency.

The Constitution states that the number of TDs cannot be more than one for every 20,000 of the population and cannot be less than one for every 30,000. There are currently 158 TDs.

The country is divided into 40 constituencies and every constituency must elect at least three members to the Dáil. As far as possible, the ratio of population to TD must be equal in each constituency.

The constituencies must be revised at least once every 12 years, although in practice they are revised after the census is published every 5 years. An independent Constituency Commission is appointed to draw up a revised scheme of constituencies which is then given effect by an Act of the Oireachtas.

TDs represent and work on behalf of the electors in their constituency.

The maximum life of the Dáil is 5 years, although at any time the Taoiseach may advise the President to dissolve the Dáil.

You can view information on the weekly schedule in the Houses of the Oireachtas.


Houses of the Oireachtas

Kildare Street
Dublin 2

Locall: Tel: (01) 618 3000 or 0761 001700
Page edited: 24 May 2016