Houses of the Oireachtas

Dáil Éireann
Dáil Éireann is the lower house of the Oireachtas (the Irish parliament). This document describes how it operates, who can be elected as a TD, and outlines what is meant by Dáil privilege, PQs and dissolution of the Dáil.

Ceann Comhairle
This document describes the role and responsibilities of the Ceann Comhairle, who is the chairperson of Dáil Eireann.

Dáil privileges
This document describes the privileges of members of Dáil Eireann and Seanad Eireann - the two houses of the Oireachtas(the Irish parliament).

Question time in Dáil Éireann
Members of parliament (TDs) can put oral and written questions to the Taoiseach and government ministers.

Work of a TD
The work of a TD (Teachta Dála) is varied and involves attending meetings, researching and examining proposed legislation and participating in Government committees.

Eligibility for Membership of Dáil Eireann
This document describes the eligibility criteria in order to qualify for membership of Dáil Eireann (house of the Irish parliament).

Registering a political party in Ireland
How to register a political party in Ireland.

Dissolution of the Dáil
This document describes the circumstances in which Dáil Éireann (lower house of the Irish parliament) can be dissolved.

This document describes how laws are made by the Oireachtas (the Irish parliament).

Private Members' Bills
Private Members' Bills are proposals for legislation initiated by members of the Dáil or Seanad.

The Seanad is the upper house of the Oireachtas (the Irish parliament). This document describes how it is elected, who may run to become a senator, and its functions.

Functions of the Seanad
The main function of Seanad Eireann is in relation to legislation. What role does the Seanad have and what are its powers?

Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann
The Cathaoirleach (or chairperson) of the Seanad has a number of powers and responsibilities.

Nomination of Seanad panel candidates
How candidates for the five panels that are formed in the Seanad in advance of general elections in Ireland are nominated.