Departments of State

We are in the process of updating this page to reflect the reorganisation of Departments of State announced following the formation of a new Government on 27 June 2020. You can view details of the TDs nominated by the Taoiseach to head a department as a Government Minister.

On 2 August 2020, the President signed the Ministers and Secretaries and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Bill 2020 (pdf) into law. The legislation provides for the establishment of a new Department of State called the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science.

Page edited: 4 August 2020