The EU and freedom of movement

European Union
The European Union is a political and economic union of certain European states. Find out more about the EU.

Freedom of movement in the EU
Freedom of movement is one of the basic aims of the European Union. Where does this right come from and can EU citizens travel freely and settle anywhere within the EU? Find out here.

The Schengen Area
What countries are in the Schengen Area, and what does it mean for travellers to and from Ireland?

The euro area
The euro is the national currency of 19 EU member states. This document explains how it operates.