Euro area

The euro area
The euro is the national currency of 19 EU member states. This document explains how it operates.

EU economic governance
The collection of EU rules on government debt and deficits is called the Stability and Growth Pact

EU stabilisation mechanisms
There are mechanisms set up for providing funding to member states that are experiencing economic difficulties.

Fiscal Stability Treaty
The Fiscal Stability Treaty aims to strengthen fiscal discipline in the euro area.

Banking union
A banking union was set up to ensure that banks are stronger and better supervised and problems resolved more easily. Find out more.

Financial supervision
There is an EU-wide system for the supervision of the financial sector.