European Parliament Political Groups


There are eight political groups in the European Parliament, ranging from socialist and environmental parties to right-of-centre parties:

Group of the European Peoples' Party (Christian Democrats). This is the largest group at the Parliament with 275 MEPs.

The Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats. This group includes 195 MEPs.

Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe. This group includes 85 MEPs.

Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance. This group includes 58 MEPs.

Confederal Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left. This group includes 34 MEPs.

European Conservatives and Reformists. This group includes 56 MEPs.

Europe of Freedom and Democracy Group. This group includes 33 MEPs.

Non-attached members (these members are not affiliated with any political grouping). There are 29 non-attached MEP's.

MEPs do not sit in groups according to their nationality. They sit with a political group and use the secretarial services available to that group.

They act independently and cannot be obliged to vote any particular way. There is no party whip so if they do not want to go along with the party policy, they can vote their own way.

Page edited: 6 September 2013