Seanad elections


A Seanad election takes place up to 90 days after Dáil Éireann has dissolved. This means that the new Dáil has assembled before the Seanad election takes place.

The Seanad has 60 members. The Taoiseach nominates 11 members, 6 are elected by university graduates and 43 in Seanad panel elections.

In 2014 a Working Group on Seanad Reform was established.

Page edited: 22 November 2016