You are here: Home > Government in Ireland > The President > Presidential Commission

Presidential Commission


If the President of Ireland is absent, becomes incapacitated, dies, resigns, is removed from office or fails to perform his or her functions, the Presidential Commission steps in to perform the functions of the President.

The Presidential Commission in Ireland consists of the Chief Justice, the Chairperson of the Dáil (the Ceann Comhairle) and the Chairperson of the Seanad (the Cathaoirleach). If any of those people are unable to act, the President of the High Court, the Leas (Deputy) Ceann Comhairle and the Leas (Deputy) Cathaoirleach, respectively, can act as members instead.

Any two of the members of the Presidential Commission can perform the functions of the President. The Presidential Commission frequently acts instead of the President while he or she is abroad, for example, by signing Bills into law.

Page updated: 1 May 2008



Related Documents

  • Ceann Comhairle
    This document describes the role and responsibilities of the Ceann Comhairle, who is the chairperson of Dáil Eireann (the upper house of the Irish parliament).
  • Cathaoirleach of the council
    Every local authority elects a Cathaoirleach (or Chairman/Mayor.
  • Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann
    The Cathaoirleach (or Speaker) of Ireland's Seanad has a number of powers and responsibilities. Read more information here.

Contact Us

If you have a question relating to this topic you can contact the Citizens Information Phone Service on 0761 07 4000 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 8pm) or you can visit your local Citizens Information Centre.