You are here: Home > Government in Ireland > The President > President - introduction

President - introduction


The President is the title given to the Irish head of State. As head of State, the President has a number of important functions. The office of the President is established by the Constitution. You can find information on the current and former Presidents here.

The President is elected directly by the people of Ireland and may be removed from office by either House of the Oireachtas (the Dail and the Seanad).

The term of office is 7 years and the President may not serve more than 2 terms.

The President is assisted in performing their duties by the Presidential Commission and the Council of State.

The President resides at the official residence, called Áras an Uachtaráin, which is located in the Phoenix Park, one of the largest enclosed parks in Europe. The Áras an Uachtaráin website has more information and includes a virtual tour of the residence.

Page edited: 12 May 2015



Related Documents

Contact Us

If you have a question relating to this topic you can contact the Citizens Information Phone Service on 0761 07 4000 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 8pm) or you can visit your local Citizens Information Centre.