Seanad Éireann is the senate of Ireland. It is the upper House of the Oireachtas (national Parliament) and has a number of important functions. Seanad Éireann is located in Dublin.

Seanad Éireann is composed of 60 members. View a list of Senators listed by name and by panel. The Taoiseach nominates 11 of the members and 49 members are elected in a Seanad election.

One of the Senators takes the role of Cathaoirleach, (Speaker/Chairperson) of the Senators. As the chairperson of the Seanad, the Cathaoirleach chairs the proceedings in the House and must act impartially.

Senators are not officially separated into political parties. However, they usually divide into groups supporting and opposing Government business when voting on issues.

A Sub-Committee of the Committee on Procedure and Privileges of Seanad Éireann was established to review and make recommendations on the current and future composition and functions of the Seanad in Ireland. In 2004 it produced a Report on Seanad Reform (pdf).


To become a Senator you must be

  • A citizen of Ireland
  • Over 21 years old

You must not be:

  • Serving a prison sentence of more than 6 months
  • A person of unsound mind
  • A judge
  • A senior official of the European Union
  • A civil servant
  • A member of the Defence Forces or the Gardai

Where to apply

Houses of the Oireachtas

Kildare Street
Dublin 2

Locall:Tel: (01) 618 3000 or 0761 001700

Page edited: 28 July 2014



Related Documents

  • Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann
    The Cathaoirleach (or chairperson) of the Seanad has a number of powers and responsibilities.
  • Functions of the Seanad
    The main function of Seanad Eireann is in relation to legislation. What role does the Seanad have and what are its powers?
  • Seanad elections
    How elections to Seanad Éireann (the upper house of the Irish parliament) are made.

Contact Us

If you have a question relating to this topic you can contact the Citizens Information Phone Service on 0761 07 4000 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 8pm) or you can visit your local Citizens Information Centre.