Seanad - the University Constituency


National University of Ireland

The National University of Ireland (NUI) can elect 3 members to the Seanad. The NUI consists of:

  • University College Dublin
  • University College Cork
  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • National University of Ireland, Maynooth.

Graduates of St. Angela's College, Sligo may vote in the Seanad elections as it is a college of NUI Galway which is a constituent university.

The NUI also awards degrees in a number of other colleges. The graduates of these "recognised colleges" with NUI awards may also vote in the Seanad elections. The recognised colleges are:

  • Royal College of Surgeons
  • National College of Art and Design
  • Shannon College of Hotel Management
  • Institute of Public Administration
  • Milltown Institute

There are also formerly recognised colleges. Graduates of these colleges who hold an NUI award may also vote in the Seanad elections. Formerly recognised colleges include:

  • St. Patrick's College, Maynooth (now the University of Maynooth)
  • Our Lady of Mercy College, Carysfort
  • Mary Immaculate College of Education, Limerick (now a college of the University of Limerick)
  • St. Patrick's College of Education, Drumcondra (now a college of Dublin City University)
  • NIHE, Limerick (now the University of Limerick)
  • Thomond College of Education, Limerick (now part of the University of Limerick)
  • St Angela's College of Education, Sligo

A list of the institutions in the NUI Seanad Éireann constituency is available on

University of Dublin (Trinity College)

The University of Dublin may also elect 3 members of the Seanad. This means that graduates of Trinity College may vote in the election. There are also a number of other colleges that award University of Dublin degrees, including the Dublin Institute of Technology. Graduates of these colleges who hold a University Of Dublin degree may also vote in the Seanad election.

Page edited: 9 June 2015