You are here: Home > Employment > Migrant workers > Employment permits

Employment permits

Overview of employment permits
Under the Employment Permits (Amendment) Act 2014 there are 9 types of employment permit. Find out more about the different types of permit.

General Employment Permit
Find out about General Employment Permits, who may apply and when a person with an employment permit may change jobs.

Critical Skills Employment Permit
The Critical Skills Employment Permit is an employment permit for employees in designated categories, depending on salary level.

Dependant/Partner/Spouse Employment Permit
Details of the arrangements to give access to employment for spouses, partners and dependants of non-EEA nationals who are holders of Critical Skills Employment Permits and researchers.

Reactivation Employment Permit
Non-EEA nationals who held a valid employment permit but who fell out of the system through no fault of their own, or have been badly treated or exploited in the workplace may be eligible for a Reactivation Employment Permit that will allow them to work again.



Contact Us

If you have a question relating to this topic you can contact the Citizens Information Phone Service on 0761 07 4000 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 8pm) or you can visit your local Citizens Information Centre.