Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation


The Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation is responsible for implementing and developing Government policy in the areas of enterprise, innovation, the regulation of business and the protection of workers. These responsibilities include the registration of companies, consumer protection, industrial relations and employment conditions. The Department has 6 divisions, including Labour Affairs.

The role of the Labour Affairs Division is to work to ensure that employment rights are appropriate and respected. This Division includes the following units:

  • Workplace Relations Reform
  • Employment Permits
  • Industrial Relations (including Protection of Young Persons Acts and Employment Agency legislation)
  • Safety Health and Chemicals Policy Unit
  • Labour market
  • Internal Audit

The Employment Permits Unit administers the employment permits system.

In January 2011, the Redundancy Payments Section and the Insolvency Payments Section were transferred from this division to the Department of Social Protection. In September 2017, the EU and Employment Rights Policy Units, as well as policy issues relating to the national minimum wage, transferred to the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection.

The work of the Industrial Relations Section includes: industrial relations legislation, trade union matters, monitoring of industrial disputes and legislation relating to employee involvement in the workplace.

Where to apply

Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation

23 Kildare Street
Dublin 2
D02 TD30

Tel:(01) 631 2121
Locall:1890 220 222

Page edited: 7 September 2017